A witty play on the scene of France. Annecy

“My liege, and madam, to expostulate

What majesty should be, what duty is,

What day is day, night night, and time is time,

Were nothing but to waste night, day, and time;

Therefore, since brevity is the soul of wit,

And tediousness the limbs and outward flourishes,

I will be brief. Your noble son is mad. . .”

William Shakespeare.

A madly romantic city that was reshaped into its actual form in 12th century. The origin history of Annecy is stated to go back until 3100 B.C., the lakeside village Annecy-le-Vieux, as  the recent digs carried out by the Department of Sub-Aquatic and Sub-marine Archaeological research show. Source http://en.annecy.eu/

I fell in love with this city. Its cobbled streets resemble Paris but the style is completely different. Even though, you can spot the French chic in its  medieval Romanesque  architecture. Small shops and narrow streets offer the perfect hideaway with a poetic touch.

I checked in at the hotel, left my luggage and strolled out to have my French escapade. It was a matter of minutes until I reached its perfect city center with its river  Thiou and animated street passages. The atmosphere was one of holiday, relaxed and not overly populated with tourists. The streets were filled mostly with groups of people and not only couples as one might  expect.

I grabbed my phone and took pictures of literally anything and everything I came across on. There were flowers on the river sides, lovely inviting terraces, street lamps that could tell so many secrets of the nights they lit, antique boutiques, art shops and my favorites- tea and coffee shops. Of course I had to purchase my own Rooibos tea! :))))

I felt like time had stopped. I guess it does when you enjoy yourself. Or rather you don’t care about it.Thiou

When you walk along the river side next to Palais D’Ile, a wonderful edifice from the 12th century, and you enjoy the scenic view of the Alps above Annecy lake, you don’t need anything else. Just to live every moment with every heartbeat.

Palais D'IleYou would like to stay there forever, in the same spot where nature meets  and is even complimented by the old manmade architecture and culture, yet you know you have to go further to find out more about this city and its surprises.Chateau d'Annecy

So you walk down the street towards the lake. You pass the church of Saint Francois to Les Jardins de L’Europe and there you find it. The beautiful teal-blue lake. Its waters are clear and  incredibly beautiful, so is the reflection of the looming Alps in them. A fairytale realm. I couldn’t help myself from wondering how many love stories has it witnessed and how many people during time passed have been charmed with its beauty.

Art shopAfter a 3h drive from Milan I didn’t know what to expect out of this city. I read about it on the internet before and saw the google images at hand yet you never know what’s going  to unfold before you when you arrive at your destination.Annecy Lake

I was enchanted. I want more of the medieval city with its romantic music sung from every step taken on its streets.

#findtruelove  #travel  #findhappiness  #oneness  #inspiration  #nature  #feelingblessed #love  #trueself  #vivelaFrance

Leave a Reply

